Peanut Butter Nutter

I am a peanut butter fanatic, even that doesn’t really justify just how much I love the stuff. Instant memories of childhood, the cloying, sweet saltiness locking my tongue to my palette, the ‘schmack’ of my mouth being released and the huge peanut butter and jam smeared grin of my wee face beaming as I devoured my favourite sandwich. You cannae beat it.

I can almost hear the screams of people who would disagree as I’ve discovered that PB seems to be the new Marmite and splits people right down the middle into lovers and haters. Luckily I am a lover and I say it loud and proud. Like most lovers I’m happy sat with a jar, a spoon and a hot cup of tea (the hot tea helps with the release of the tongue) but I recently added a little extra something, something to my spoon in jar sessions. Dates. In recent years I’ve moved on from the crunchy super sweet brands of PB and opted for the whole nut version and love it. Waitrose do an amazing essential whole nut PB which is now a store cupboard staple but the other day I decided to try a HUGE jar of the whole earth crunchy, mainly because it was on offer for £2, bargain!

So as I’m stood at the counter spooning the butter of Gods in my mouth I started to assess my cupboards and saw a packet of dates and a light bulb went off, not literally of course although there are a few out in the kitchen at the moment…but sorry, I digress. So metaphorical lightbulb goes off and I think hmm sweet sticky dates + salty creamy PB = HEAVEN. Man I was right, this was the best thing I’d put in my mouth all day. So I as I stood there shovelling yet more PB + date into my mouth I thought I should marry these two together in a more sociable manner as people won’t want to stand around and share a jar with me whilst enjoying some tea.

It’s didn’t take me long to figure out what was missing. Oats. I love flapjacks and I just knew if I could get them all together something magical would happen, I was not disappointed and my recipe for heaven shall follow:

Peanut Butter and Date Flapjacks

50g – Golden Syrup
150g – Butter
100g – Peanut Butter
100g – Chopped Dates
250g – Oats
2 tbsp – Demerara Sugar

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and grease and line a 20cm square baking tin.
  2. Put the syrup, butter and peanut butter in a pan and melt over a low heat until everything is combined and smelling DE-lish!
  3. Add the oats and dates and stir until everything is well coated. It is important to resist the urge to just eat this oaty mix straight from the pan or at least submit to just one tiny taste.
  4. Press this mixture into the prepared tin with the back of a spoon ensuring its well packed then sprinkle the top with sugar.
  5. Bake in the oven for 15 mins keeping an eye on the top so that it doesn’t go from golden to black.
  6. Once all golden and lovely remove from the over and using a knife portion the flapjack in the tin into 16 pieces. Leave to cool in the tin then devour. It’s important to allow the flapjack to cool in the tin otherwise you’re flapjacks will be flaky and will fall apart.
My oh my, I can smell them from here! I would like to also point out that although I’ve stated butter above, I used Pure Sunflower spread making these babies dairy free and it worked out great. Everyone I gave one too loved them and couldn’t tell they were dairy free – winning.

Leave a Reply

