Veggie Brunch – National Vegetarian Week

You know those mornings when you require a little something more than porridge or cereal and you want to make a feast out of your first meal…no? Oh just me and my greedy appetite then it would seem. Well how about at the weekend when you want to treat yourself and possibly your hangover to a nice comforting fry up, ah I think I may have you there, well I have the veggie answer.

When you start cutting out the meat in your diet most people I speak to claim bacon is one of their main weaknesses but it is possible to have something tasty on a lazy Sunday morning that isn’t meat.

I really needed cheering up the other day and as per usual I turned to my fridge for solace. It’s 4 days until payday so the fridge is looking a little bare on comfort food as it stands but I did have a  lot of bits that needed using up. I created this little brunchy lunchy from mushrooms, cherry tomatoes and  half a red onion lurking at the bottom of my fridge but you could use any bits and bobs that need using up really, cooked potatoes (just fry them up so they’re nice and crisp), a bit of spinach, asparagus, courgettes you get the picture.

I must apologise for the unappetising photo of this dish, it was very hard to get a ‘glam’ photo of my little fry up with my phone camera but believe me it’s a very tasty little treat. It probably wasn’t the best idea to leave my camera back in Edinburgh when I’d decided to dedicate my blog to trying to encourage people to eat veggie for a week.

Veggie Brunch

Serves 1 – Prep time: 10 mins, Cooking Time: 15 mins

Ingredients:

Glug of olive oil
1/2 Red Onion, sliced into half moons
1 tbsp Good balsamic vinegar
1 Quick sprinkle of Herbs de Provence
1 Mushroom, sliced thickly
5 Cherry tomatoes, halved
1 Egg

Method:

  1. Heat the oil over a medium heat in a small non-stick fry pan. Add the onion and fry to soften it a little, do not allow the onion to colour. Once the onion is softened but with a little bite still add the balsamic and Herbs de Provence and allow it to reduce down.
  2. Add the mushrooms and tomatoes and cook through until the mushrooms are coloured and the tomatoes start to soften but not to the point of collapse.
  3. Create a space in the middle of the pan by pushing the onion mixture to the sides of the pan. Crack the egg in the space and cook it through so that it’s still got a nice gooey yolk. (If you have a lid for your frying pan I advise popping this on and allowing the steam to cook the top of the egg but you could also whack it under the grill)
  4. Serve with a nice toasted english muffin or some wholegrain toast.

Leave a Reply

